Awards Announced For 2016

24th July 2016



At its meeting held today, 24th July 2016, the Executive Committee of the Music Academy has unanimously chosen the outstanding and versatile violinist, **Kum.A.Kanyakumari**, for its coveted "**Sangita Kalanidhi**" Award and for presiding over the**90**th Annual Conference of the Music Academy to be held from 15th December 2016 to 1st January 2017. Kum. Kanyakumari is a top ranking Carnatic violinist whose experience spans over 50 years as an accompanist, soloist and a teacher. She is the first female violinist ever in the history of The Music Academy to have been chosen for the prestigious "**Sangita Kalanidhi**" Award, which will be conferred on her at the **Sadas** on 1st January 2017. The Committee also chose the following persons for the other awards to be conferred at the **90**th Annual Conference and Concerts.

1. Sangita Kala Acharya: 2 Awards

Rudrapatnam Brothers Shri R.N.Thyagarajan and Shri R.N. Tharanathan (Vocal duo) Prof. K.Venkataramanan (Vocalist and music teacher)

2. T.T.K. Awards: 2

Dr. Nirmala Sundararajan (Vocalist)

Shri M.Kodilingam (Thevaram singer and Teacher)

3. Musicologist Award: Dr. Rama Kausalya

4. Papa KS Venkataramiah Award

For violin will be given to Shri Sikkil Baskaran.

The above awards will also be conferred at the **Sadas** on 1st **January 2017**.

5. DANCE FESTIVAL: Natya Kala Acharya Award:

The Natya Kala Acharya Award for Dance, would go to the eminent Bharatanatyam Dancer and choreographer, Kum. Malavika Sarukkai. This award will be conferred at the Inaugural function of the Dance Festival on 3rd January 2017.

N. MURALI

PRESIDENT.