Sadas held at Music Academy

The traditional oriental convocation aka The Sadas of the Music Academy, Madras was held on January 1, 2020, with Shri Suresh Krishna, Chairman, Sundram Fasteners Limited, as Chief Guest. He conferred the title of Sangita Kalanidhi on Dr S Sowmya, the title of Sangita Kala Acharya on Vidushi Seetha Narayanan and Vidushi MS Sheela, and the TTK Awards on Vidvan Vyasarpadi G Kothandaraman and Vidvan Rakumar Bharathi. The Musicologist Award was conferred on Dr Arati N Rao. Shri Suresh Krishna also gave away the prizes to the winners under various categories, based on the performances held during the 93rd annual conference and concerts. The list of prize winners under various categories is given in this link.

Earlier, the President of the Music Academy, Shri N Murali welcomed the gathering. Shri R Srinivasan, Vice President, convoked the Sadas and Shri Sriram V, Secretary and Convenor of the Annual Conference, compered the event. Dr S Sowmya was felicitated by Vidvan RK Shriramkumar while the other awardees were congratulated by Dr Ritha Rajan, Academic Coordinator, Advanced School of Carnatic Music, the Music Academy, Madras. Sangita Kalanidhi S Sowmya remembered her Gurus and also thanked the various people who had played a key role in her journey in music. She thanked the Music Academy Madras for what she termed was a yagna of 16days when she presided over the annual conference and also attended the concerts of several artistes. Shri Rajkumar Bharathi thanked the Music Academy on behalf of other awardees. Dr Meenakshi Sumathi Krishnan proposed a vote of thanks.